My relationship with yoga has been on-again, off-again, for the past two decades.  While in an ‘on-again’ phase at some point in the past 10 years, I walked into one of Christopher’s classes and have been hooked ever since.  I’m glad to admit that with his appealing teaching style, my relationship to my yoga practice has become much more consistent.  His sage voice speaks well to my inner voice.  Together, they help keep me stretching lately…
Knowing very little about you, other than to know that you are a very inspiring and compelling teacher for me, I’m curious about your path.  How did you come to be a yoga instructor?
Being a yoga instructor was not something that I had ever thought about. I came to my first yoga class because of my right hamstring. It had been affecting my movements in my Tai Chi practice. And I, like most people who come to yoga, came with the hopes of stretching and developing better flexibility. I guess the long and short of it was, after the first class I was hooked. Believe it or not, it was not because my hamstring was fixed. It didn’t even feel better. There was something else happening, and it continues to happen today. The director of the mind/body department of the YMCA asked me if I would be interested in taking a yoga teacher training course and nearly ten years later I’m still taking courses trying to be a yoga instructor.

How much and in what ways, does your ‘preaching’ inform your teaching, and vice versa?
The best way to answer that question may leave the question unanswered. For me, there is neither the doing of one and the other. They both are an attempt to take a journey; spiritual? I have struggled toward knowing in both. Tai Chi too was and continues to be apart of the journey. My journey (spiritual) developed in Christianity and some how the study of chi and prana seemed to add a depth.

I find your teaching style to be unique among yoga instructors.  It feels more like coaching rather than teaching.  You do a beautiful job of cueing; your voice is mantra like in its cadence and tone.  It’s helpful to listen to your voice while holding a pose for longer than feels natural, at times.  How has this aspect of your teaching, evolved?
While I am aware that you are in a pose, I also am aware that there is an opportunity for the pose to be in you. With some frequency I will say, “we’re all headed toward the perfect asana”. One of my mentors taught me that the joy in life is not getting there, it’s in the journey.

You strike me as a very inspired teacher.  You are so clearly, committed to your work.  What or whom, are your sources of inspiration?
As I thought about this question, I began to make a list. I discovered each who inspired me basically gave me direction which can best be described in buddhist terms. They all pointed. It was mine to look where they were pointing and not at them, nor their finger. There, beyond them, those who had inspired me, they pointed to where inspiration really was…everywhere.

You teach when you teach; you aren’t squeezing in another hour of your own practice, while you teach. Will you tell us, what your own, daily practice looks like?
Being.

What will you offer the world in 2013?
I will just be present.

(Rev) Christopher Sims leads inquiry-based church services in Northern Delaware and teaches yoga classes throughout S.E. Pennsylvania and Wilmington, Delaware.

